332 Road 3 W, Kingsville, ON N9Y 2E5     519.733.4034     Email: questions@jackminer.com

Jack Miner Museum

The museum houses various Miner family memorabilia from the late 1800s, back when the family’s brick and tile manufacturing plant was in operation. It features many letters and photos from distinguished visitors such as Henry Ford and Ty Cobb, two of Jack’s closest friends. The walls are full of breathtaking period photography from some of the most influential photographers of that generation. Visitors can view some of the original waterfowl bands, various era-specific tools, taxidermy birds, and even Jack Miner’s lecture clothing.

In 1980, this building was initially designed and built by Mr. Tom Jenner, who had no architectural training. It was built as a horse stable with a hayloft on the second floor and to house Jack and his wife Laona’s buggy and carriages. In 1925, when the geese were congregating in large numbers at the sanctuary, it was re-built by Jim Bennett and Alex Cascadden with an additional story, as can been seen by a painting inside. It was remodelled to act as an observation tower, which Jack Miner referred to as “his oblookatory.” In 1977, when the observation tower was no longer needed, Mr. Konrad Kehl and Sons of Harrow were commissioned to remodel the building once again by taking off the third story and keeping the original architectural design to use as the Jack Miner museum. Many volunteers helped with the creating of the museum, but it was Beth Shaughnessy who organized and displayed all the artifacts for the family. It has since been remodeled, adding some warmth with pine wood and some more modern cabinets and lighting. The upstairs is currently used for storage and additional office space.

Visit during the week during the summer months or the weekend. Closed December until March.

Experience The Jack Miner Migratory Bird Sanctuary by Banding Together: Past. Present. Future.